On to Richmond; or, A Change of Base

So I’ve moved to Richmond, Virginia, and have begun working at the American Civil War Museum. Can you believe that? I am the guest curator for a two-year Andrew W. Mellon Foundation funded initiative (in partnership with the Nau Center for Civil War History at the University of Virginia) to develop two temporary exhibits in conjunction with the opening of a new museum building and new permanent exhibit at the Tredegar site. But it’s more than that. My team and I will be working to further develop the best practices in visitor centered exhibit and program development that the museum already employs, and will be exploring ways for scholars to develop public engagement and accessibility skills as part of their academic repertoire.

Today is my second day on the job, and, needless to say, I’m excited about this. The staff here has a great vision for the future of this institution, and I’m lucky to be able to be a part of it for a while.

So I guess it’s time to put up or shut up.

What does this mean for this blog? I don’t know yet. I’ve got permission to keep doing what I’ve been doing here, but my context has changed and that may be reflected in what I write about and how I write about it. It will be interesting to see what happens as my idealism becomes disciplined by experience. But as always, my praxis is iterative, so we’ll just have to wait and see.

If you are ever in Richmond, drop by and see me.

In the meantime, Jason Isbell is playing here tonight, so I get to go hear some “bullshit story about the Civil War” from the man himself!

Leave a Reply

